Skip to content

Which states bar concealed carry by people with violent misdemeanor convictions?

23 states have adopted this policy

AL AK AZ AR CA CO CT DE FL GA HI ID IL IN IA KS KY LA ME MD MA MI MN MS MO MT NE NV NH NJ NM NY NC ND OH OK OR PA RI SC SD TN TX UT VT VA WA WV WI WY

No Carry After Violent Offense

Alabama has not adopted this policy

No Carry After Violent Offense

Alaska has not adopted this policy

No Carry After Violent Offense

Arizona has not adopted this policy

No Carry After Violent Offense

Arkansas has not adopted this policy

No Carry After Violent Offense

California has adopted this policy

How long is a person disqualified?
10 years

No Carry After Violent Offense

Colorado has not adopted this policy

No Carry After Violent Offense

Connecticut has adopted this policy

How long is a person disqualified?
Indefinitely

No Carry After Violent Offense

Delaware has adopted this policy

How long is a person disqualified?
5 years

No Carry After Violent Offense

Florida has adopted this policy

How long is a person disqualified?
3 years

No Carry After Violent Offense

Georgia has not adopted this policy

No Carry After Violent Offense

Hawaii has adopted this policy

How long is a person disqualified?
Indefinitely

No Carry After Violent Offense

Idaho has not adopted this policy

No Carry After Violent Offense

Illinois has adopted this policy

How long is a person disqualified?
5 years

No Carry After Violent Offense

Indiana has not adopted this policy

No Carry After Violent Offense

Iowa has not adopted this policy

No Carry After Violent Offense

Kansas has not adopted this policy

No Carry After Violent Offense

Kentucky has not adopted this policy

No Carry After Violent Offense

Louisiana has adopted this policy

How long is a person disqualified?
10 years

No Carry After Violent Offense

Maine has not adopted this policy

No Carry After Violent Offense

Maryland has adopted this policy

How long is a person disqualified?
Indefinitely

No Carry After Violent Offense

Massachusetts has adopted this policy

How long is a person disqualified?
Indefinitely

No Carry After Violent Offense

Michigan has adopted this policy

How long is a person disqualified?
3 or 8 years (depending on offense)

No Carry After Violent Offense

Minnesota has adopted this policy

How long is a person disqualified?
3 years

No Carry After Violent Offense

Mississippi has not adopted this policy

No Carry After Violent Offense

Missouri has not adopted this policy

No Carry After Violent Offense

Montana has not adopted this policy

No Carry After Violent Offense

Nebraska has adopted this policy

How long is a person disqualified?
10 years

No Carry After Violent Offense

Nevada has adopted this policy

How long is a person disqualified?
Indefinitely

No Carry After Violent Offense

New Hampshire has not adopted this policy

No Carry After Violent Offense

New Jersey has adopted this policy

How long is a person disqualified?
Indefinitely

No Carry After Violent Offense

New Mexico has adopted this policy

How long is a person disqualified?
10 years

No Carry After Violent Offense

New York has adopted this policy

How long is a person disqualified?
Indefinitely

No Carry After Violent Offense

North Carolina has adopted this policy

How long is a person disqualified?
Indefinitely

No Carry After Violent Offense

North Dakota has adopted this policy

How long is a person disqualified?
5 Years

No Carry After Violent Offense

Ohio has adopted this policy

How long is a person disqualified?
Indefinitely

No Carry After Violent Offense

Oklahoma has adopted this policy

How long is a person disqualified?
10 years

No Carry After Violent Offense

Oregon has adopted this policy

How long is a person disqualified?
4 years

No Carry After Violent Offense

Pennsylvania has not adopted this policy

No Carry After Violent Offense

Rhode Island has not adopted this policy

No Carry After Violent Offense

South Carolina has not adopted this policy

No Carry After Violent Offense

South Dakota has not adopted this policy

No Carry After Violent Offense

Tennessee has not adopted this policy

No Carry After Violent Offense

Texas has adopted this policy

How long is a person disqualified?
5 years

No Carry After Violent Offense

Utah has not adopted this policy

No Carry After Violent Offense

Vermont has not adopted this policy

No Carry After Violent Offense

Virginia has adopted this policy

How long is a person disqualified?
Indefinitely

No Carry After Violent Offense

Washington has not adopted this policy

No Carry After Violent Offense

West Virginia has not adopted this policy

No Carry After Violent Offense

Wisconsin has not adopted this policy

No Carry After Violent Offense

Wyoming has not adopted this policy

What It Does

Federal law bars nearly all people with felony convictions from having guns, but does not cover any misdemeanors other than domestic abuse. Several states have closed this gap by covering violent misdemeanor offenses in their own gun possession laws—but this larger set of 23 states disqualifies these individuals from carrying concealed firearms in public, even if they are not barred from having them at home. These state laws vary in which crimes are included, and some apply only on a temporary basis.

The Impact

State laws barring gun possession after violent misdemeanor convictions are associated with a 21% reduction in intimate-partner homicide with a firearm and an 18% reduction in overall homicide rates.

No Carry After Violent Offense

Policy adopted? How long is a person disqualified?
Alabama
Alaska
Arizona
Arkansas
California 10 years
Colorado
Connecticut Indefinitely
Delaware 5 years
Florida 3 years
Georgia
Hawaii Indefinitely
Idaho
Illinois 5 years
Indiana
Iowa
Kansas
Kentucky
Louisiana 10 years
Maine
Maryland Indefinitely
Massachusetts Indefinitely
Michigan 3 or 8 years (depending on offense)
Minnesota 3 years
Mississippi
Missouri
Montana
Nebraska 10 years
Nevada Indefinitely
New Hampshire
New Jersey Indefinitely
New Mexico 10 years
New York Indefinitely
North Carolina Indefinitely
North Dakota 5 Years
Ohio Indefinitely
Oklahoma 10 years
Oregon 4 years
Pennsylvania
Rhode Island
South Carolina
South Dakota
Tennessee
Texas 5 years
Utah
Vermont
Virginia Indefinitely
Washington
West Virginia
Wisconsin
Wyoming
Show Citations and Footnotes
Source: Cal. Penal Code § 29805(a); Conn. Gen. Stat. § 29-38(b); Del. Code Ann. tit. 11, §§ 1441, 1448; Fla. Stat. § 790.06(3); Haw. Rev. Stat. §§ 134-7, 134-9, 134-1; 430 Ill. Comp. Stat. § 66/25(3)(A); 720 Ill. Comp. Stat. §§ 5/12-1, 5/12-2, 5/12-3; La. Rev. Stat. § 40:1379.3; Md. Code Ann., Pub. Safety § 306(a)(2); Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 140, § 131(d); Mich. Comp. Laws § 28.425b(h), (i); Minn. Stat. §§ 624.713, subd. (1)(11),  624.714, subd. (2)(b)(v); Neb. Rev. Stat. § 69-2433; N.J. Stat. Ann. §§ 2C:58-4(c), 2C:58-3(c)(1), 2C:1-4; N.M. Stat. Ann. § 29-19-4(B)(1); N.Y. Penal Law §§ 400.00(1), 265.00; N.C. Gen. Stat. § 14-415.12; .D. Cent. Code § 62.1-04-02; N.D. Cent. Code §§ 62.1-04-03(1)(c), 62.1-02-01(1)(b); Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 2923.125(D)(1)(e)-(h); Okla. Stat. tit. 21, § 1272(A)(6); Or. Rev. Stat. § 166.291(1); Tex. Gov’t Code Ann. § 411.172(a)(8); Va. Code Ann. § 18.2-308.09(14).

21: Zeoli A, McCourt A, Buggs S, Frattaroli S, Lilley D, & Webster D. (2018, July 1). Analysis of the strength of legal firearms restrictions for perpetrators of domestic violence and their associations with intimate partner homicide. American Journal of Epidemiology, 187(7): 1449–55. Retrieved January 19, 2022, from https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/29194475/

18: Siegel M, Pahn M, Xuan Z, Fleegler E, & Hemenway D. (2019). The impact of state firearm laws on homicide and suicide deaths in the USA, 1991–2016: A panel study. Journal of General Internal Medicine, 34: 2021–28. Retrieved January 19, 2022, from https://link.springer.com/article/10.1007/s11606-019-04922-x#citeas.

More from Guns in public